Re-focusing (get it?)

I have always striven to be the most complete photographer I could be. By this, I mean that I always tried to be be good at a bunch of different kinds of photography from fashion and portrait, to editorial and photojournalism. This however has always led to a fracturing of my focus and I have never really excelled at any one aspect.

 Now that I have finally graduated from USM, I have spent a fair amount of time contemplating my future and what I want out of life. I had long since come t the determination that I want to be a professional photographer, but not quite sure in what field. My recent stint assisting a great local commercial photographer, Brian Fitzgerald, has shown me, that while commercial and editorial jobs can be fun, its not that I want to do with my career.

 As always I have come back to landscape photography. When I first started taking pictures, it was obvious that I gravitated toward the nature and landscape shots, and as my abilities have progressed, it has become my favorite thing to shoot. At the end of the day, when I get my choice of what I want to shoot, 99% of the time, I grab my camera, and head for some of my favorite landscapes. After taking this all into consideration, I have come to the conclusion that I will focus solely on becoming a professional full-time landscape photographer.

 This isn’t to say that I won’t continue to dabble in other avenues, but for now most of my time and effort will be going into landscape side of things. I have already begun to change my web presence around to show the change. For those of you that follow me on facebook, you’ll find that I have removed most of my non-landscape albums. On my website I have done the same, and updated the look of everything. Right now I have some short term goals of getting my traffic up and spreading the word to people. For now, expect to see a lot of new landscape images coming out of the Charlie Widdis Photography camp. Any and all support from you folks is greatly appreciated.

Until next time, happy shooting

Leave a Reply

